Southern Sayings Part 2

Standard

Its been a while since I updated this so I figured why not! Here are some more fun sayings I hear people use and have used and stuff my boyfriend says!

Expressions & Sayings

Creeker: Someone that lives up a creek or hollow

whistle britches: someone who is in a hurry “slow down whistle britches”

Hold your horses: slow down

Sexier than socks on a rooster: something hot; unusual

I’m fixin’ to: can literally mean you are getting ready to do something or can be used as threat

Sight for sore eyes: glad to see someone

Don’t get smart with me: don’t be a smart a**

Kiss my grits: can be used as a substitute for  kiss my A** or used to show excitement 

Quiet being ugly: stop being mean or rude

Hissy fit: throwing a tantrum

The porch lights on, but nobodies home: someone with lacking mental capacity or you know stupid

Smells so bad it would knock a dog (or crow) off a gut wagon: it smells something awful

faster than a hot knife through butter: quick

Colder than a witch’s tit in a brass bra: *side note: I hate this one and my boyfriend used it the other day*  its really cold

Stick a fork in me I’m done: finished something, done messing with something, over something

Heavens to betsy: term used when something bad happens

About to pop: mad or stuffed

Gut buster: bad news, getting hit in the gut

I’m happier than a tornado in a trailer park: very happy

Bowed up: stopped suddenly, got mad

Hitting the nail on the head: doing something right

souther sayings all

Words

Polecat: someone that stinks, it lonesome, and down right awful

Huzzy (hussy): slutty lady

Pocketbook: purse

dangummit: curse word

mash: a game; an action used (mashed some potatoes ; an ingredient in moonshine  

Po’Boy: a long sandwich usually containing fried oysters, shrimp or fish

Buggy: shopping cart

Button: tv remote

Sweeper: vacuum

  

Leave a Reply

